Kids of the protests/the nation is growing up

I was born in 1993, so I don’t remember a lot from 1997 – the year of the protests in Bulgaria. I remember how my father was going to the office for his salary almost every day (well, it might have not been every day, but this is still my impression). I later found out that it was because of the inflation.
The other moment I remember from 1997 was when my brother was born.
Later, when we started school, I was wondering why is his class always smaller than mine – the answer was rather obvious for the grown-ups: it was not easy to think about children in 1997, so very few were born.

You might call them, or call us, kids of the protests.Photo: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151953601126102.1073741829.646461101&type=1

Now, 16 years later, my cousin was just brought to the world – in a very remarkable day for our modern history, a day when the impudence of the government scored it highest point!

16 years later Bulgaria has its new kids of the protests!

After the series of protests in the beginning of the year that led to the resignation of the government, some months later thousands of Bulgarians are on the streets again. The reason is the appointment of the media magnate Delyan Peevski for security chief. He’s famous for his extremely fast career development, which is seen to be possible only thanks to his mother. Shortly before his new position was announced, changes to the law were made, so that he could actually qualify for the job with his short work experience.

Behind the protests we can also find a number of other reasons that will keep them going, even when the prime minister withdrew Peevski’s application. In fact, if every day the people decided to change the actual reason for the ongoing protest, we will still be able to demonstrate for a good year.

Yesterday, while I was reading what has happened during the protest, I wanted to write a blog post entitled “Народът порасте на няколко века” („Тhe nation grew up with a couple of centuries” – quote from one of the most famous Bulgarian writers Ivan Vazov). And then I started thinking that if it wasn’t for the nation, the current government, which is in no way better than the previous (and, ironically, this doesn’t mean that the previous is better than this), we wouldn’t have seen such an impudence. So is the nation really growing up?

If we go back to the figures regarding the remarkably low turnout on the elections day, the answer should not be negative at all costs. If we stick to those numbers and the fact that 25% of the votes actually went to parties that didn’t make it into the parliament, the future might look brighter: when this government falls (and personally I do believe that this will be soon), we should all go to the ballot-boxes and vote.

However, in contrast to what we have been doing for the last 20 years (they are surely more, but I don’t want to talk about times, I haven’t seen), we should not vote for the party which is the “smaller devil”. All mainstream parties have shown that they are better in other things (loving their families and ensuring they have the best possible job, for example) and not in actually ruling the country. So, let’s vote for smaller parties and not listen to what the statistics say – can we actually believe the sociologists and the media after all we’ve seen?

As a conclusion, I should say that I’m a bid disappointed, that I don’t remember 1997 and I’m not home in the moment. But, anyway, a real change will take longer, so when I go home in couple of months, I’ll still find something interesting – protests, elections, real freedom of the mass media… you never know…

And I keep wondering what will my cousin know about the day when she was born, the 14th July 2013?

P.S. For Bulgarian readers: http://kaschiyski.com/?p=833

2 thoughts on “Kids of the protests/the nation is growing up

  1. Great post. Its especially nice to get some insight into a country/culture that one knows little about and set out on a discovery mission. Wish the last link was available in English too.

Leave a Reply

